Testimonials

Our Partners

What Patients Say

Thank you for giving me my life back. It is an amazing gift to be an active participant in your own life--in every facet of it.

My father was visiting us from India for a vacation and unfortunately broke his collar bone on one our trips. Being on visitors insurance, I thought the whole experience will be tough, but I am glad I called NJ Spine and Ortho, cause after booking the first appointment, it was their team taking care of every thing. They tried their best not to delay on anything. I talked to so many people at NJ Spine and Ortho, and each one of them was super helpful answering all our questions, of which he had many, specially Ethan, our patient advocate, who was with us every step of the way. Through out the whole experience, it felt like we were in this together. They worked with the insurance provider, and help us resolve every small issue by taking care of it themselves. My dad had his surgery to align his clavicle on 11th September at the Surgery Center in west orange, and everyone was super nice. Our surgeon, Dr. Steven was very nice, and answered all our questions. My parents were praising the whole team at NJ Spine and Ortho, who made the whole experience so much better.

Bikram Singh, September 11, 2017

I can’t believe how good l feel. I don’t want to over do it, but it’s hard not to. Thanks for giving me my life back. Now I don’t have to just settle, I can enjoy the rest of my life to the fullest.

Laurie Stewart, October 3, 2017

I’m a 48 year old female who was suffering 2 years from sciatica in my right leg in its biggest form.  This sciatica was something I’ve never experienced and what was worse was that it was always there, it never left me not even for a day.

I remember in mid July 2017, I woke in the middle of the night as I usually would from the severe pain and burning and grabbed my phone and searched sciatica relief. The first thing that popped up was NJ Spine and Orthopedic. I filled out the information and the next day I received a call from the office. I was seen that week and met with Dr. Steven Schiebert. He spent over an hour with me just with my first visit and he was extremely thorough and I felt like I was his only patient on the planet. Soon after that, I was sent for MRI & Xray. After meeting again we set a date for surgery. Sept 6,2017, I had my lengthy procedure at the Surgical Center, right down the hall from his office and went home the same day.

I was pleased to meet such an exceptional group of people and felt a calm as I was being prepared to go in.

I’m now 100% pain free, walking normally again, I smile and sleep every night without disturbance. I HAVE MY LIFE BACK and it’s all due to the incredible knowledge and skill of Dr. Steven Schiebert.

I would highly recommend this facility to ANYONE who lives with suffering every day.

 

Naomi M, September 20, 2017

Wanted to say thank you to everyone at Advanced Orthopedic Dr. Katzman and his all of team did a wonderful job of helping me through a painful situation with my bulging discs. Starting out with a pain level of debilitating me from my daily activities. Between multiple injections in the Hollywood and Orlando office help to relieve the pain and pressure on my spine. 
Along with the injections I received acupuncture and in combination with the injections and acupuncture I am so happy to say that I am pain free. Also would like to thank Ethan for communicating with me throughout this entire experience and made me feel more than a patient but that you were truly caring about my overall well being.

Thank you all so much! I appreciate everything!

Brenda Grace, August 31, 2017

My name is Jerald Hills and I just wanted to say my experience with NJ Spine & Orthopedic has been really great. My patient advocates Ryan Kloss and Gina Rogers have been exceptional in helping me through every step of the process from start to finish by getting my surgery setup and post surgery. Dr. Steven Schiebert never over promised but did a fantastic job of making my back pain go away. I would recommend this team and practice to anyone. I am very pleased with the results.

Thanks NJ Spine & Orthopedic!

Jerald Hills, September 6, 2017

After treating with NJ Spine and Orthopedic over the past year I have went from an extreme amount of pain to complete relief. After I had my procedure, and after a few weeks of recovery, I was back to my old self. I refer everyone I speak to with similar issues to Dr. Katzman and NJ Spine and Orthopedic. They gave me my life back and I couldn’t be happier!

Bernardo Matias, August 30, 2017

I started having back pain several years ago and never went to the Dr. It finally got to where I was having weakness in my legs so that’s when I decided to see a Dr.

I went to see my local Orthopedic specialist and had several test including bone scan, CT scan, x-rays, and that’s when I was diagnosed with a large thoracic disc herniation with significant mass effect and spinal stenosis at my T9-10 and Sacrococcygeal  disorder. That’s when my local Dr. recommended a T9 Laminectomy, Facetectomy, with discectomy on the left at T9-10 and instrumental fusion with lots of hardware including rods and screws. Also recommended a right SI joint fusion with 2 screws. He said I would likely have pain the rest of my life. I am only 45 years old and definitely don’t want to be in pain for the rest of my life. I tried several injections and physical therapy with little to no results.

I knew surgery was going to be the only thing to help so I started researching for a place that done minimally invasive laser surgery. I called several different places and narrowed it down to NJ Spine and Ortho. I am in NC so travelling to NJ meant I would have to fly. I have never been on a plane so that terrified me.

After contacting them and sending them my MRI results, which they will read for free, I received a call from Dr. Slaughter telling me he could help me with my pain and he proceeded to tell me after reading my MRI he was really surprised that I could even walk because of my spinal cord was nearly pinched completely off. That’s when I decided I really need to get this done.

A couple days later I received a call from Dr. Katzman and he gave me positive advise that Dr. Slaughter could help me. So I called my patient care coordinator back to set up my appointment. They set up all my appointments, flight arrangements, and hotel reservations. They also took care of getting my insurance approval. The staff at NJ Spine and Ortho are very professional.

Dr. Slaughter completed a left Laminectomy, Facetectomy T9-10 with disckectomy with no rods or screws and only a one inch incision. After surgery and recovery I was feeling great. I walked out of the surgery center with no leg weakness. I arrived in NJ on Wednesday had surgery on Thursday and flew home on Friday. If anyone is thinking about having back surgery consult with NJ Spine and Ortho they are very professional. It has been a month now since my surgery and I’m feeling great. My back and leg pain is 100% gone. A big thanks to Dr. Slaughter and his team.

Susan Pope, September 1, 2017

As a recent patient of Dr. Katzman, I would like to share my experience.   For approximately 12 to 13 years, I have had increasing discomfort with my cervical spine.  This was not the result of any accident or incident in particular but various incidents over time. I understand it was of a degenerative nature, and in my case, more advanced.  Based on a couple MRI’s over the years, the severity was confirmed.  I had lived with this because I was apprehensive to consider what I considered might be too aggressive and did not want to have injections.  Physical therapy, ibuprofen, heating pad, and ice packs were my answer to the discomfort all these years.  One day after experiencing some especially pronounced discomfort, I started some research on my own.  This is how I found Dr. Katzman and his staff.  Everyone was so accommodating (Ethan, Jennifer), and Dr. Katzman called me and my husband and answered all our concerns.  Before I knew it, I was at the surgery center and my husband and I knew I was in good hands.  The staff at the surgery center were amazing.  My follow-up appointments with Dr. Pruitt, Dr. Katzman, Physician Assistant LewJack, etc., culminated in results above what I could have ever expected.  My neck and my new discs are wonderful!  I thank each of you so very much.

Debra Bryan,

On October 23, 2016, I had major back surgery to repair damage to the bottom of my spinal column at L2, L3, L4, and L5, as well as a severe spinal stenosis. It was performed on November 23, the day before Thanksgiving, and I felt so well that we had guests on Turkey Day.

My recovery has been remarkable. After about 6 weeks of therapy, I returned to work on a part time basis. I continued for the next number of months on a part time, although I felt I could work full time.

My employer discontinued my full time status in June, canceling all of my benefits. I was stunned. My employer told me that the only way to be considered for reinstatement was to document the medical condition that limited my ability to work full time.

I asked NJ Spinal and Orthopedic if they could assist in explaining my circumstance.

They were fantastic! They framed their argument so concisely on a single prescription sheet, that my employer, who hates to admit that they were mistaken, did so. Moreover, NJ Spinal responded to my request the same day! Truly exceptional service, but I feel it is through their very personal care and concern.

In summary, I have been reinstated to full time status. Hat’s off to the whole staff who helped to make this happen!

Paul Tomlin,

Dear friends at the Center for Artificial Disk Replacement, and specially Dr. Katzman:

It’s been almost two months since Dr. Katzman operated on my herniated disk cervical area 6/7.

First of all, I’d like to thank Dr. Katzman for making this procedure of the latest technology available to regular, hard-working Americans like me.

Apparently, Dr. Katzman is one of the busiest surgeons in the US. It’s unbelievable the number of patients he has helped. And not just with quality surgery but he was very flexible with our insurance coverage; Making it financially painless too.

Second, as for his staff, two words: caring and professional. Super clean surgery center and highly qualified staff.

In regards to the actual procedure, at least in my case, the only way to go when you have a badly herniated cervical disk is to replace it with an artificial one. Dr. Katzman chose in my case a model called Mobi-C.  The minute I woke up from the surgery, I was able to move my back in any direction without any discomfort.

As opposed to the Fusion procedure, the artificial disk is 100% better. (Note that not all patients can have an artificial disk) but most of us with a herniated disk should look carefully at the option I had done on me. The recovery was also smooth; two weeks later I was perfect. Note, that proper nutrition and rest is always very much needed

I have other smaller herniations on my spine. And I would not hesitate to have Dr. Katzman, operate on me again.

Thanks so much, Dr. Katzman and crew

And don’t forget I promised you and a few of your crew a nice sailing trip. Just let me know when ready to sail.

Sincerely

Capt. Miguel Barranco

Capt. Miguel Barranco,

I am a 61 year old female who went to several orthopedic surgeons in my area due to extreme pain from my tailbone. I couldn’t get any help from them even know I was unable to sit and when I did it would cause ulcers. I had no quality of life because of this. I was unable to go to church,  movies, dinner or anything that required sitting. I am so happy that I found Dr. Michael Thomas in Orlando, Florida.  He preformed a coccyxectomy. It’s only been 6 weeks and I am pain free. I was very impressed with his compassionate professional demeanor.

The surgical staff likewise were great. I would highly recommend Dr. Micheal Thomas. He gave me a new lease on life. Thanks.

 

Sincerely,

Cheryl Buettin

Cheryl Buettin,

My name is Dawn B. So far in 2017 I have had 3 surgeries performed by Dr. Douglas Slaughter of NJ Spine and Orthopedic. The surgeries have definitely helped me with my pain. Besides being an excellent surgeon, Dr. Slaughter has always taken the time to listen to me explain my symptoms, as well as explaining the surgical procedures in a way that was easy for me to understand.  If I ever should need another surgery I would hope that Dr. Slaughter would be available. And if anyone I know should need spine surgery I would definitely recommend Dr. Slaughter to them.  Did I mention that he also really cares about his patients and has a great sense of humor? Thank you Dr. Slaughter!

Dawn B, January 9, 2017

To Whom It May Concern,  I have suffered with back pain for the better part of my life and have just been tolerating it. However, after having an unnecessary back operation with another doctor, this pain became debilitating when it developed into sciatica.  I was going out of my mind with the pain.  After much research, I happened upon your organization and without a doubt it became the best find of my life.  From the moment I began speaking with Ethan, he was a wealth of knowledge and most helpful.  He answered all my questions and believe me I asked a lot of them!!!  He was thorough and patient and always followed up to check on my progress.  He provided me with an appointment with Dr. Katzman.

 

Now to talk about Dr. Katzman and his most capable and wonderful staff (especially and in particular Dominick).  From the moment I spoke to Dr. Katzman I felt he was sincere and honest.  Unlike other doctors, he did not give me false hope for my back as he stated I had the bones of a 92 year old man. Dr. Katzman told me if I were his brother he would not suggest I have any further operations on my back. However, he did suggest that he could alleviate the sciatic pain that had developed as a result of the other back operation. I am so very pleased to say that in his very capable and skilled hands of Gold, I am now free of the horrendous sciatic pain.  I still have back pain but it is tolerable and I am so very grateful to Dr. Katzman and all his wonderful staff for the excellent care they provided to me during this ordeal.  I would, without hesitation, recommend Orthopedic and Laser Spine Surgery, it is a first rate organization and worthy of many accolades.

Sincerely, Arnie Schiller

Arnie Schiller,

Hi my name is Steve K…..about a year ago I was having so much pain in my lower back and Left leg..so about a month ago.(May 17th). I spotted a commercial on TV about Spinal Laser Surgery…But in NYC…I live in NJ. So I did some research and found a great location NJ Spine..Office located at 25 Main St .Suite 12 Edison NJ…Wow the staff there was out of this world…Dr. Douglas Slaughter MD…was the man..After some testing (MRI) (X-rays)..Dr. Slaughter called me In and we scheduled. surgery May 31st.I was driven that morning to West Orange Surgery Ctr …in West Orange NJ. The staff was the greatest , Shira ,Gina, and all the staff were so professional. I didn’t worry about a thing. Its been around 16 days since the surgery….and I feel totally pain-free…I wish I could thank all of you for what you have done for me. I’m a new man at 65…able to pick up and play with my 19-month-old grandson…Again Thank you from the bottom of my heart…

Steve K, May 31, 2017

Once I realized my knee would not be able to give me the mobility I would need to enjoy my planned trip to Europe  I contacted Dr. Katzman’s office to explore my options, given I had only 7 weeks until my trip.  My patient advocate Ethen assured me that there was a high probability my knee would respond in time to make the trip. Ethen scheduled the surgery, stem cell therapy all pre- surgical appointments. The facility is state of the art, felt like I was in a pod on the space shuttle. The pre-op team thoroughly explained the procedure to myself and my wife. Three days after surgery I was moving about the house and one week later I entered physical therapy. Dr Katzman laid out the PT goals and now 10 days before my trip I am cycling and walking 1.5 miles a day. I am relieved and confident I will be able to handle the demands of my trip.

 

Thank you! Dr. Katzman, Ethan and staff

Steve S,

When meeting Dr K for the first time he stated he would make a new woman out of me. Now 5 weeks later he has.  I am a 75 year old woman and after having two disc replacements I feel I am 20 years younger.  Dr K, his staff, and everyone involved is just fabulous. The surgical team was unbelievable and caring.  All I can say if thank you, thank you, thank you.

 

Barbara E. Hall

Barbara Hall, June 25, 2017

On March 4,2017 was the day I got my life back. I couldn’t walk without pain was constantly in and out of hospitals for the chronic pain I had in my back and the debilitating headaches I suffered from my car accident on Dec. 1,2015.  The woman ran a red light and hit the passenger side where my mom was sitting .  It was called a tbone accident where my neck was so badly injured I didn’t know if I would be paralyzed. I had surgery done on April 7 ,2016.  The surgery was not successful and I lived in constant pain from numbness in my arms and legs and the inability to walk around without constant pain. I had no life until Dr.Katzman performed laser surgery on march 4th,2017 on my back . Three weeks later I had my neck done. I’ve learned to live without pain which is a miracle and I consider myself a walking miracle. Everyone has been wonderful to me from Ethan to Jennifer and the whole staff. I am so grateful for Dr. Katzman because he “saved” me. I had no life and now I do. I can walk again which I never thought was possible and my headaches no longer run my life. I consider myself a miracle and each day I get stronger.Pain doesn’t rule my waking hours and I will be forever “grateful” for the new life Dr.Scott Katzman has given me. I am proof that miracles do happen and I Thank God everyday for this beautiful gift.

 

Eternally grateful

Pamela Sacks

Pamela Sacks, March 4, 2017

The lower back procedure went extremely well. It stopped the pain shooting down both of my legs stemming from the sciatic nerve. I then had a surgery on my neck which was also completed without a hitch and produced a great outcome. Ever since the my car accident I was unable to turn my neck to the left and right but now I can do so with no issues. I would highly recommend Dr Katzman and his practice!

Robert Gonicberg, April 22, 2017

 I have had my neck surgery with Dr. Scott Katzman. I have found Dr. Katzman to be a skilled and outstanding surgeon. He is the Doctor that I found that helped me when others could not.

My neck is far better today than it was before surgery and I am so far happy with the results. My neck was in need of a disc replacement or fusion. I did not like what the fusion would do to me and what the future would be for my neck. Dr K reviewed my scans, talked to me personally on the phone several times and he helped me make a good decision. I found him to be easy to talk to, he takes the time to answer all and any questions you may have for him. I feel he really cares about his patients and their health.

I would strongly recommend Dr. Scott Katzman if you or anyone needs surgery on their neck. He is on the leading edge of medical technology and he will make a difference in your life.

Timothy Odey, February 6, 2017

The people that work at NJ Spine and Orthopedic are the best! Dr. Katzman did my back surgery one year ago. I had severe sciatic pain that went from above my hip to the bottom of my foot. After surgery my pain was TOTALLY GONE. Literally OVERNIGHT. And I only had to take one day off work!!

Kathleen A, January 13, 2017

The staff at NJ Spine and Orthopedic is very helpful and courteous. Dr. Oppenheimer answered all my questions before my surgery and made me feel extremely comfortable! After the surgery he was available for any questions I had and continued to contact me to see how I was progressing. I would recommend Dr. Oppenheimer for anyone who is considering neuro or spinal specialists. I especially want to thank the staff for their professionalism and consistently going above and beyond to make my experience very pleasant.

 

Ralph Cicetti, September 20, 2016

Kristin R

Kristin gave us a 5 Star Facebook Review!:

5 Months ago tomorrow I had a laminoforaminotomy performed by NJ Spine & Orthopedic and I am forever thankful. I suffered for 3 long years before finding Dr. Katzman and NJSO and now I’m doing so many things I couldn’t do. Thank you to the team who worked with me and made this into the best experience from a bad situation.

Click here to view Kristin’s review on our Facebook page or to leave your own review.

Kristin R, January 18, 2016 , Facebook

David S

I’ve been suffering with neck and back pain dating back to March of 2014. Over that period of time I had seen 8 doctors: orthopedists, neurosurgeons, pain doctors and an acupuncturist. I’ve had numerous MRIs, CT scans and Xrays. Per most people’s advice I tried every non-invasive procedure including nerve blocks and several RF oblations, all the while on various prescription pain medications and muscle relaxers. I was in constant pain physically and emotionally.

Fortunately in my wife’s diligent research she came across Dr. Katzman & Dr. Oppenheimer with NJ Spine & Orthopedic. After review of my MRI & CT Scan they felt I was a candidate for their minimally invasive surgery. You don’t even want to know what other similar companies had said to me relative to cost and time, especially the ones that advertise on TV. Having met with Dr. Katzman, he went over a plan of action, his office got everything approved through my insurance and we scheduled a date. I’ve heard stories of people who’ve had triple fusion surgery on their necks, I couldn’t imagine it when NJSO booked my procedure in a surgical center and said that I would be going home after the surgery. Dr. Katzman exuded such confidence in his ability to cure me in a manner which would be less painful with a brief recovery time. I had asked him if I’d be able to attend a charity car show that I was sponsoring 2 days after surgery. He was optimistic stating that I’d be on pain medication and have a neck brace and would have to be careful. I attended the car show, probably not a wise move, wore the neck brace on and off for a month as my severe pain was gone. I was only experiencing procedural pain.

Dr. K found and removed a grape size tumor in my vertebrae as well as bone spurs. I was feeling so good that we set a date to heal my back 5 ½ weeks after my triple fusion on my neck. Needless to say I wanted the same surgical team and same outpatient facility. They were amazed at my neck’s healing in such a brief time, as was I. I am very fortunate to have the same results with my back procedure. At my follow up visit 2 weeks post surgery I asked if I could start stretching, walking and exercising in the gym. I was given clearance along with a list of what NOT to do.

I am now 10 weeks post neck surgery and 4 weeks post back surgery, with Dr. Katzman’s help I weaned off all pain medication and am back at work and in the gym 3 days a week. I told my wife I feel like I just popped out of a B film noir movie after 1 ½ years on pain medication.

Praise God!! Praise NJSO and their staff!!

Respectfully,
David S

David S, December 11, 2015

Dear NJ Spine & Orthopedic,

My two level cervical disc replacements using the Mobi-C appliance took place in August, 2015. C5-6 and C6-7 levels were herniated and the constant pain in my right shoulder and arm should have been a clue that it wasn’t just a tight neck muscle. An MRI confirmed the severity of the herniations.

I found NJ Spine & Orthopedic through an internet search and was very lucky that their schedule allowed for a very fast turn around from the initial diagnosis to the surgery. After sporadic sleep for a few weeks, I couldn’t wait for the discs to be replaced. In fact, when I awoke from the surgery all the pain was gone. The recovery pain was infinitesimal comparatively speaking.

From the first time NJ Spine & Orthopedic was contacted to my last appointment, I was treated with respect and always given answers to my endless questions. It’s difficult to top Dr. Katzman as a cervical surgeon. He helped develop the disc replacement appliances and is one of the pioneers in anterior access to the discs.

The nurses and all the behind the scenes people – office staff, patient advocates and insurance experts handled my case so thoroughly that if I ever need another disc replaced there’s absolutely no question where I’d go. Dr. Katzman’s physician’s assistant, Lewjack Dorrance, was instrumental in assuaging any fears I had about the surgery, recovery time, possible complications, etc.

I can’t rate this surgical team highly enough.

Best Regards,
Jim N.

Jim N, November 17, 2015

Thomas C

I am a 6’4″ (ex-hockey player and musician-bassist who now rides in a car all day selling industrial chemicals), just turned 50, and had been battling lower back pain for 20+ years. There comes a time when the chiropractic treatments, physical therapy, medications, cortisone and lidocaine injections (spinal, epidural, trigger point, neural and facet, etc.), and radio frequency just don’t work anymore…When you are facing daily pain and want your life back—look no further than Drs. Katzman and Oppenheimer. They have the technology and the talent to heal and always stick to the philosophy “least to most invasive”

I ended up having a double fusion: L4-L5 & L5-S1 (following a foraminotomy/discectomy) that eliminated my pain (even when pain management doctors advised me “I would never be pain free again” due to stenosis and osteoarthritis). While I considered fancy establishments like the Laser Spine Institute in Tampa for my surgery, it really came down to the doctors themselves. Dr. Katzman and Dr. Oppenheimer are each uniquely skilled but share a common no nonsense approach. They will work with your insurance and see you through the process. I haven’t been to a doctor in months and could recommend them to anyone!

Sincerely,
Thomas C
Orlando, FL

Thomas C, July 28, 2015

I’d like to personally thank the 3 of you for your involvement in my wife’s successful spine surgery up-to and on November 17th.

Dr. Wood, I think you were the first one to reach out to my wife after the review of her MRI. Your phone call was the first ‘Ace In The Hole’ for us. We’ve never received a review of Terry’s MRI(s) in the past 12 years living here in ATL (Emory and affiliated facilities) where a physician said “here’s the problem and here is the solution –let us know when you are ready”. I was traveling at the time when Terry called me and shared that you personally reached out to her, it was a moment – I think we both started to cry with joy.

Bill you came into play when we the ball started rolling and it was rolling fast. You calmness, professionalism and knowledge for what was about to unfold couldn’t have been more helpful and spot on. Our daily conversations started and ended with – “did you talk to Bill today?” Working so kindly with us on the financial front – is something I’m not used too. So much I started to think “this is all to easy, this can’t be real”. I kept those thoughts hidden because I didn’t want to pop Terry’s bubble, but I felt it was my responsibility as her care taker to do the homework and make sure I was talking to a real facility – besides you guys were in another state. Nothing came up, I kept trying to find a lose end, a bad review, a false number – nothing and I’m pretty good at this kind of stuff – I do web development.

And of course the Oscar goes to Dr. Oppenheimer and the surgical team. An elite team of badasses that came in early and took my broken wife and fixed her! All of our worries and concerns quickly deflated as soon as your team started prepping her for the day that changed our lives and got us back to where we were 10 years prior. This is a major thank you, a praise to you and your team for giving Terry a second chance at life again – as her spirit had been beaten down and we had no other options. I really can’t thank you enough. You knew exactly what to do, how to do, and did with pure awesomeness.

With that being said – here’s whats happened since post surgery. When I saw how much pain she was enduring in the recovery room, I thought to myself “oh god, what have we done, we just made a grave mistake”. I drove her to the hotel in what seemed like the worst ride I had ever taken in my life, every crack, every bump, seemed like I was dropping a sledgehammer on her head repeatedly. I struggled to get her in bed and then we both fall asleep at 4pm. The next morning, something happened that hadn’t happen in 10 years. My wife woke up with zero pain. No migraines, no facial pain, no pulled muscles, nothing. I could’t believe it. The only thing she has felt is the tension in her left shoulder and the ache in her neck from the surgery. We are expecting this to reside. I drove her back to Atl Tuesday and the 6.5 hr drive did a number on her. By the 5th hr, she couldn’t take much more and her neck seemed like it was starting to swell. We finally arrived at 9pm, I iced it up and today she is doing better. The phone calls keep coming in – family, friends – are in disbelief, but overwhelmed in JOY. Their daughter, their friend, their sister is back.

Thank you so much.

Terry P, November 19, 2014

Dear NJ Spine & Ortho,

Sorry that it has taken so long for us to contact you to thank you for how much you helped us in correcting Ron’s back problem.

Over the past five years there have been several physicians…some good, some bad, and a very special few, extraordinary. Many answer the calling and go on to be excellent but only that special few are extraordinary. The experts at NJSO are among the extraordinary!

Extraordinary is the only word I can think of to describe our experiences with your team from the very first phone call. My surgeon’s talent both in the operating room and out is a beacon of help for the future of all NJSO patients.

Thank you for spending time with us and making us feel comfortable. But more importantly you made us feel at ease with what you were going to do.

After the surgery, again, my surgeon met with us putting us at ease and letting us know how everything went. There is no way and no words to properly thank you for all that you have done.

Even weeks after the surgery, my surgeon still answered his phone even while he was on vacation and again when I was involved in a traffic accident (I was stopped at a traffic light and was hit from behind). Even the Doctor in the ER said that we should be very thankful that we had found a special place like NJ Spine & Orthopedic. Before the accident I had been out of pain for approximately five days and had not had to take pain pills. However since the accident the pain has returned to my back and although the CT scan did not show anything out of place my pain has returned.

As a small token of our appreciation, we are sending you this gift.

My God always bless you.
Thank you,
Ron and Yo Marietta, GA

Ron & Yo, December 12, 2013

Jeff A

Dear NJ Spine & Ortho,

I am pleased and honored to report to you that I am 100% pain free. The artificial disc replacement laser surgery that you performed on Friday, September 5, 2013 was a lifesaver. I was able to return to work on Monday, September 9, 2013 with no restrictions whatsoever.

I feel so fortunate that I found your practice and that you performed my surgery. The local physicians gave me very little hope with the prognosis after the traditional fusion surgery that would have limited my neck and back movements. Also, the long healing process from the fusion surgery would have put me out of business. I am happy to tell you that I am back to jumping on and off of equipment, climbing the large cranes at the port authority, and lifting heavy objects again. The weakness in my arm is gone and I am gaining the muscle back very quickly My wife and I want you know that you have the best team of associates we have ever met. The first phone call she made to your practice was to Chris Grieneisen, your patient advocate. He was so nice and very helpful getting the process started. Dr. Steven Karm, your Senior Patient Advocate, finished the process by explaining everything; making sure we understood the procedure and being very patient. We have never dealt with so many nice people over the phone. The day of surgery we met the rest of your great staff and associates. Everyone was so friendly and happy. We were very surprised how happy of all of them seemed and how excited they were for me. Then meeting my surgeon, it became very clear. He has an excitement and love of what he does that is really hard to describe. Let me just say that he put us at ease with the confidence that he showed and the love of being able to perform this surgery.

I have been recommending your surgery to so many people I hope that you will be able to help some of them as much as you helped me.

Sincerely,
Jeff A.

Jeff A, September 27, 2013

I am pleased to report to you that I am doing well. After about 8 weeks I was able to start some hiking. Now when I get on the trail, the first thing I think of is that I cannot believe I am able to do this. I have suffered for 8 years with back pain and the only thing that was done was cortisone injections to decrease the pain. I will report that I am not pain free but manageable. It was impossible to walk up hill due to my tailbone issues. No one seemed to understand why. Also by the time I came to you both legs were going numb from the stenosis in my L4-5. I will definitely contact you by email or otherwise if I have problems in the future. I am getting older and have degenerative disc disease. I am interested in getting as much good health as I can out of this or any other surgery. The photo’s I sent are at the Olympic National Park, Hurricane Ridge, and North Cascade National Forest. “Look at me now baby!”

Pamela S
Stanwood, WA

Pamela S,

Mary L

Mary, who has worked within the medical spine service team for over 6 years, unexpectedly but thankfully, becomes a patient:

“I have always been amazed to see and talk to the patients smiling at me and walking straight up without any pain after a post op visit. I have had a lot of vascular problems and surgeries so I never thought I would be able to be one of NJSO’s surgical patients. I knew I needed surgery but due to my other health problems, I didn’t think I would be a candidate. My surgeon at NJ Spine & Ortho assured me that I would be able to handle the surgery as it was minimally invasive.

So, for me to say my surgeon is remarkable is really putting it mildly. I had tears in my eyes as he greeted me for my post op back surgery exam, just 4 days after my surgery.

For the past 2 years I was not able to walk through Publix grocery store or even just enjoy a walk through the mall. The pain was actually visible. The grocery store employees were so used to seeing me walk in pain – they would just take the carriage from me and walk it to my car – loading everything for me. I was so embarrassed – yet grateful.

Stretching, bending and turning is all part of simple cleaning. I’d have to do a little and then stop to rest – Light cleaning was an all-day affair –due to the pain. Holidays and birthdays are times to enjoy family & friends. We always celebrate outside around the pool and patio. Unfortunately, my back pain had gotten to a point where I would have to slip away after just standing a short time and lay down for a while – I’d then return embarrassed! Now, because of my doctor’s surgical knowledge, I can look forward to having a decent life again!

My surgeon at NJSO is an excellent diagnostician, physician and surgeon – his skills are unsurpassed. He explained everything to me and told me not to worry because he would take care of everything.

My surgery was performed in a minimally invasive fashion. My surgeon successfully completed a Laminectomy, foraminotomy, and partial facetectomy with decompression of the spinal cord and nerve root at the L4-L5 level (left sided) and repeated the same procedures on the right side. He also removed disc material that was impinging upon the nerve root at the L4, L5, and S1 levels. I woke from surgery feeling great! The staff was terrific too– they wanted me to stay overnight so they could keep an eye on me but I was so happy to be feeling so good, I just wanted to go home! –I said, “I can walk and my daughter is here – Can I please leave?” They called my surgeon and he gave the go ahead! That was it – I went home with my daughter and since then, I have hardly stopped. She spent a couple of nights with me but I think I was driving her crazy – Not because I needed her to help with anything but because, I didn’t!

God Bless the doctors at NJ Spine & Ortho. There is no end to their endurance – they will stay with you until they feel they have done everything possible to make you well. I’ve been to other surgeons who just do not have my doctor at NJSO’s ability or knowledge! I’ll be seeing my doctor again on Thursday, October 17, 2013 for stitch removal.

I feel sooooo great and I will be happy to answer any questions about my surgery – Just call NJ Spine & Ortho, my phone number is on file. Now, all I can say is “if you are in pain – do yourself a favor and call NJSO for an appointment. You’ll never be unhappy if you put your body in their hands!!”

Sincerely,
Mary L. West Palm Beach, Fl.

Mary L,

On August 15, 2012, Mr. Rick Mayo came to NJ Spine & Ortho with complaints of severe neck pain with left arm radiculopathy (pain and numbness). After reviewing Rick’s MRI, his surgeon observed a large left sided herniated disc at the C6- C7 level with protrusions at the C3-C4, C4-C5 and C5-C6 levels. He was also developing stenosis which is a narrowing of the opening where the spinal cord goes through.

The professionals at NJSO started Mr. Mayo on injection therapy including a facet block and a nerve root injection. After about a month, Rick came in again stating that now he was about 50% better. The injections helped a lot of the pain going down to his hand but he still had some neck pain.

At this point, his surgeon recommended a Total Disc Replacement at the C6-C7 level. They also discussed a Discectomy with a Fusion but his surgeon thought that since, now after the injection therapy had healed most of his other problems, his problem was mainly geared to the one level. It would make much more sense to have the Total Disc Replacement because it would offer him more flexibility. Mr. Mayo agreed.

On November 02, 2012, Mr. Mayo did undergo the Discectomy with a Total Disc Replacement at the C6-C7 level. Right away, the pain and numbness going down his arm went away! He still had some stiffness, to which his surgeon recommended some home exercises, including a stretching and strengthening program. About a month later, on December 11, 2012, Mr. Mayo came in with no pain and great motion!!

Richard M, November 2, 2013

To patients interested in NJ Spine & Orthopedic,

For the past four years I have suffered with severe pain in my right knee. My knee was in perfect condition. The diagnosis from many doctors was the pain that was coming from L4. I flew to New York to the Hospital for Special Surgery, supposedly the best facility in the country. They verified the problem and recommended a fusion. I was familiar with the long painful recovery period and rejected the surgery. I then went to the University of Miami and they made the same recommendation. I was in desperate need of help. I had two previous minimally invasive surgeries from local surgeons with stellar reputations and they did not help me. After their surgery they sent me to sports medicine doctors who uselessly injected my knee.

I could no longer walk more than 100 feet without excruciating pain in my knee, never my back. Playing golf was a painful experience, particularly walking to the greens.

NJSO was recommended to me from a friend. My surgeon there immediately told me the problem and why the previous surgeries did not work; bone was still touching the nerve. He told me that his surgery would take care of it and I would need a fusion because removing that much bone would destabilize the back. However, the fusion would be minimally invasive and in 10 weeks I could start playing golf. To me it sounded too good to be true.

The bottom line is “I feel soooooooo great: I am pain free for the first time in over four years and more importantly I’m out playing golf and can take a full golf swing.

Whatever the doctors at NJ Spine & Orthopedic tell you to do you can accept as gospel. Just do it and stop shopping.

If you want to call me to discuss the surgery you are more than welcome. (Phone is on file with the NJSO staff).

Sincerely,
Barry R.

Barry R, April 2, 2013

I am very pleased with the service of Doctor Katzman and his colleagues for a wonderful experience. I had been suffering for numerous years from my tailbone and sciatica pain which included numerous infections and visits for pain management medication which had no long lasting effect.

My pain management also included numerous epidurals that would help for a very short time. I had come to a dead-end. I always continued looking for a permanent solution to my back pain. Finding the orthopedic laser surgery group and Dr. Katzman was the answer to my prayer. From first contact they were very courteous, concerned and helpful. The staff was very professional and I was taken care of with professionalism and concern. Everything was explained to me before and after my procedure and what to expect, so I was put very much at ease.

It has been just 3 weeks and I notice the difference. I feel 90% compared to 45% before the surgery. This has been a blessing. I would recommend Dr. Katzman and his colleagues.

Carmen N. – Lakeland, FL

Carmen N,

My experience with NJSO has been nothing short of amazing. I am pain free after suffering for 20 years. I am a healthcare consultant and naturally see everything through a critical eye. The incredible team at NJ Spine & Ortho took time to answer all of my questions after giving me a thorough description of the proposed procedures. I interviewed several other surgeons both in Florida and Virginia, who all reviewed my MRI. At the initial appointment with my surgeon at NJSO, I knew this was where I was meant to be. Once my decision was made, surgery was scheduled and performed 4 weeks later.

I highly recommend the doctors at NJ Spine and Orthopedic to anyone suffering with back pain, and contemplating surgery. There are many surgeons out there who will tell you they can fix your problem and push you into surgery within days. Some even discourage a second opinion.

I am so happy with my results.

Linda F. – Virginia Beach, VA

Linda F,

I had a painful and stiff neck . I had a prior neck fusion which didn’t help. I saw many doctors. They all said that my neck was too complicated to fix. My surgeon at NJ Spine & Ortho took the time to explain what he was going to do. He put in an artificial disk replacement in my neck and now my neck is not stiff or painful anymore! Amazing.

Karen W. T.,

NJ Spine & Orthopedic … treated me for an automobile accident. My surgeon was a dedicated doctor that is skilled in medicine. If you have an injury I would recommend NJSO.

Jerry K,

My doctor’s diagnoses are spot accurate. His techniques are minimally invasive and leave one with very little post surgery pain.

Mrs. A.C.,

“Since my surgery I feel great great. So happy with my surgery. I will recommended NJ Spine & Orthopedic to anyone.”

When Mrs. Caldero first met her surgeon in April of 2012, she suffered from a failed lumbar fusion from 2005 and was still in terrible pain. In June 2012, the NJSO team performed a discogram of her L3-4 level and also her L5-S1 level with an ablation surgery on her sciatic nerves in an attempt to help control the pain. Ms. Caldero’s pain subsided for a while but the pain slowly returned. In March 2013, her surgeon performed a sacroiliac joint fusion, (a biomechanical implant and a fusion). Since her surgery she is feeling great and is happy to recommend the experts at NJ Spine & Ortho to everyone.”

I.C.,

The staff at NJ Spine & Orthopedic are among the best healthcare workers that i have ever been to. My doctor is a very personable man but besides his perfect bedside manner, he is an excellent diagnostician. He helped me when other doctors had given up. I would recommend NJ Spine & Ortho to anyone!

A Dedicated Patient From Stuart, FL,

When I walked into the office for the first time, I was greeted very graciously by the staff. Even though I was in a significant amount of pain, the staff made me feel very welcome. Before and after the surgery, my surgeon and his staff were very personable and professional. The experts at NJ Spine & Ortho did an amazing job. When I left, I felt like I could get back to living my normal lifestyle. Thanks to NJSO’s amazing team.

William B, March 26, 2016

The experience was quick and efficient. Looking forward to getting back to the links pain free!

James R, October 27, 2015

I had cervical fusion surgery performed by the experts at NJSO in November, before which I had very limited range of motion in my neck, because the pain was too unbearable to move it. After my cervical fusion I am able to move my neck from side to side and up and down again totally pain free. I now have full range of motion, am free of the pain, and no longer suffer from headaches. My surgeon truly is a miracle worker.

Peggy M,

I had a T7 compression fracture and for over a year and a half I was in agony. I took pain pills like candy. I went thru pain management and had cortisone injected into my spine on several occasions. I was a total wreck and depressed. I was referred to a surgeon in Ft.Pierce, FL., Dr. Scott Katzman, who at that time wanted to do the surgery in July 2001. My insurance company wanted a second opinion so I got one. The second Doctor said “no way, it won’t work, the injury is too old, the procedure is too new.” So I kept up the pain management. It finally got to the point I demanded the Kyphoplasty procedure. It was performed in March 2002. I went home immediately after the operation and was at work the next day! I tossed all the pain pills. Today was my final visit with Dr. Katzman. His office is now packed with clients and testimonial letters line the walls. It ain’t snake oil people. This is “miracle” surgery. In my opinion, this is catching on fast. An alternative for invasive back surgery. No danger, no long recovery, period.

Anonymous ,

Dear NJ Spine & Orthopedic,

We are very happy to have had such a wonderful experience during this back surgery. Your staff has been outstanding! Thank you so much for helping me on my road to a better back.

Warmest Regards,
Denver L.

Denver L,

I had my surgery done December 10th, 2015. I was so nervous going into it. I have never had surgery before & I didn’t know what to expect since everyone heals differently. Dr. Katzman called & went over with me what he was going to do, which was [to] remove my coccyx.

The surgery was simple & took only 20 minutes or so. The first week I was in a lot of pain, but after that, it got better each day. The staff was extremely wonderful with my neediness afterwards. I had MANY questions & they were all answered. I was glad that I was able to talk to Dr. Katzman & P.A. Steven before I went in the room for the surgery. They helped calm my nerves & were awesome. He is the BEST surgeon around for any back surgeries. I read SO many awesome reviews on him & I was sold on him doing my surgery. It’s now February 10, 2016 & I am recovering so awesomely.

Thank you Dr. Katzman & Staff for giving me my life back! I can do SO many things, & not be in pain, that I couldn’t do before.

Samantha C., February 10, 2016

Dr. Scott Katzman from NJ Spine and Orthopedics fixed my back! I had low back pain for many years. However, within the past 2 yrs my pain became severe, and I could no longer enjoy my life. I contacted NJ Spine and Orthopedics and I had pinched nerves, herniated and torn discs, degeneration ect. there is more. They performed Bilateral Facet Lumbar Fusion L3-4, L4-5, L5-S1 & Laminoforaminotomy. I am happy to say that I am pain free after only 3 weeks post surgery and back to work. Thank you Dr. Katzman and NJ Spine and Orthopedics for fixing me up!

Melanie C., January 20, 2017

I was diagnosed with degenerative disk disease over 13 years ago. I’m 59 years old and I think that was a nice way of telling me that I’m getting old! That was back when I had neck surgery to remove the disk between C7 and T1. Fast forward to the summer of 2016. I was working on my deck and retaining wall in the back yard until dark. I came back into the house with moderate to severe low back pain and loaded up with 800mg of Motrin. The pain morphed into excruciating pain that radiated down my right leg to my knee. I knew what was going on since I was a former paramedic of 20 years and had gone through this before with my neck. An MRI confirmed a ruptured disk between L3 and L4. I knew that surgery was the only option but I did some physical therapy first anyway to appease the insurance company. My family Doctor wanted me to go to a local hospital for the traditional back surgery but I ended up up cancelling the appointment. I wanted the minimally invasive laser surgery that I had heard about. I did my own research and had narrowed my search down to only two facilities. New Jersey Spine & Orthopedic was clearly the better choice based on their experience, testimonials and the fact that they were confident enough in their surgery to let you go home the same day. I made the arrangements, got the approval from my insurance company and had the surgery. They repaired the ruptured disk and took care of three areas of spinal stenosis all from the same nickel size opening. Today I am 100% cured. I am jogging again and back to work as a diesel mechanic for PennDOT, where my spine is put to the test every day. I have not even had the annoying low back pain and stiffness that has been plaguing me for the last 20 years. The only side effect that I have now is some leg stiffness at night and even that is gradually going away. As with any surgery involving nerves, you need to give it a year before all the symptoms to go away. My advice to anyone out there searching for this type of surgery is to take a look at NJSO. They are true professionals in the field of minimally invasive laser surgery. Make an appointment to meet with Dr. Katzman or any of the other fine surgeons and you won’t search anymore.

Michael Kielar, April 4, 2017